Welcome to MyEggNest.com
  Click here to go to the Home Page Click here to Compare Click here to go to the My Egg Nest Products Click here to go to the Shop Click here to read More About Us Click here to read our FAQs Click here to view our Contact Details
 
Children Savings News
Junior ISAs
Child Tax Exempt Savings Plans
Children's Savings Plans
Child Trust Funds
Making Parenting Affordable
Spending Wisely
Ask the Experts

Compare Junior ISA (JISA)
Compare Junior ISA (JISA)
Compare Junior ISA (JISA)

Twitter



Ask the Experts

Ask the Experts is MyEggNest's free service for questions on Junior ISAs and any aspect of family finance.

Ask our Independent Financial Advisor Steve Weisner a question here.



AddThis Social Bookmark Button


MyEggNest RSS

RSS MyEggNest News


Most Popular Pages

1. Compare Junior ISAs
2. Junior ISA Menu
3. Junior ISA Provider reviews
4. Stocks & Shares Junior ISAs
5. Cash Junior ISAs

Child Tax-Exempt Savings Plans


Did you know that Children's Tax-Exempt Savings Plans (TESPs) also provide a long-term, tax-free way to save for your children's future?


Click here
to find out more about a tax-efficient way to build up a nest-egg for your child in addition to a Junior ISA, and compare providers.



Free Prize Draw

Enter our FREE Prize Draw and one lucky winner, chosen at random, will receive £250 added to their Children Savings Account.



MyEggNest is proud to support Get Connected.

You can learn more about Get Connected, a free, confidential helpline for young people, here.

To find out how you can make a donation, visit www.getconnected.org.uk.

 
 
 





Britannia Building Society Britannia Building Society - Child Trust Fund Reviews

Shown below are all the reviews that have been made for this Financial Product with the most recent at the top.

To return and view all the Financial Products that have been reviewed, click here.

If you would like to make your own review please click here.


Date of Review - 9 Friday September 2011

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: Excellent customer service
Bad Points: None so far!
General Comments:
The information given to me when choosing and opening the account was clear, to the point with no jargon, they gave the pros and cons of all the various accounts and ensured I had the right account for my requirements. The staff in the various branches around bristol have all been helpful and able to help me competently and quickly, there are always plenty of staff so your not hanging around in ques. Their telephone service is great too, without lots of "press 1 for this" and "press 2 for that", you are able to speak to an adviser promptly and again staff are excellent.
Review made by: Clare Arnold


Date of Review - 9 Thursday June 2011

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 4/5 4/5

Good Points: Easy to set up
Bad Points: None
General Comments:
Britannia's website was clear, simple and straightforward. The instructions for opening the account and how to apply were clear and I experienced no difficulties in making my application for my daughter's Child Trust Fund. The written communication received back from Britannia was well written and easy to understand, although the confirmation did take longer than I had expected. I found it easy to set up an ongoing direct debit, and so did other members of my family - sometimes you have to ferret about for this kind of information, but it was easy with Britannia. I also appreciated the flexibility with which you make payments - lump sum, regular, by DD, standing order or bank transfer. The statements sent out by Britannia are clear and consise and I like the way that they detail every transaction, not just summarising the year's activity. Overall, I have been pleased with their performance.
Review made by: Jules Grant


Date of Review - 28 Saturday May 2011

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 4/5 4/5

Good Points:
Bad Points:
General Comments:
very flexible at making appointment although was not told when previously enquired that an appointment would be needed. Very friendly and efficient not time consuming which was good for me as on my lunch break from work and my wife was insistent it had to be opened asap! Was given all info in a pack there and then not having to rely on post and they included a predictive growth chart for 5 years time. Also told us when to expect documentation on a regular basis every five years so not inundated with useless paperwork. I am happy with my wife choice of of investment and the company we have used.
Review made by: matthew cantillon


Date of Review - 27 Friday May 2011

Ease of Use 3/5 3/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: very good and helpful and friendly staff
Bad Points: tried to up sell other products to myself and got a few phone calls weeks after open account.
General Comments:
very good and friendly and helpful staff, very understanding that had daughter with me and made sure we were both had what we need. went in and got a appoinment for the net day and they went thought very thing that i needed to take in with me so that we had everything and would not have to go back again another day. gave us the sccount money there and then so we could start paying money in ourselfs that day or at least before all the information came along in the post. the only thing is because i had an account with them myself when i was young they tried to get me to reopen that and tried to up sell insurance (home and life) to myself and had a few phone calls but onced advice ok has was the phone calls did stop straight away. overall very very happy.
Review made by: emma golden


Date of Review - 12 Thursday May 2011

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  3/5 3/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: Friendly and you get an appointment with in 3days.
Bad Points: Try to get you to take a lot of insurance out.
General Comments:
very quick to book appointment tho, with in three days. Appointment last about 30 mins to an hr, very friendly staff easy acsses with pram :) full hand out given packed with information, they also offer you to take out life in surance and home insurance and lots of othere things, but over all rather good. just going to woffle as it got to be 100 words now. staff are welcoming you recive lots of information thro the post and theye give me hand outs , happy with the account with them for my child. that is all. nothing much left to say.
Review made by: samantha pownall


Date of Review - 27 Wednesday April 2011

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: very easy to open
Bad Points: you receive statements every 1 year and it is just 1 statement.
General Comments:
very good interest , and guarenteed every year so you will never have less than you put in. they have goood customer service and help you do paperwork even though it was very easy to set up and do yourself, will so advise you to all the services which would be of interest to you before you make you decision of what to open up with them, it was easy to and got an appointment very quickly, easty access in to the building and entertaionment for the children in the waiting area and refreshments were ofered. great packages for all the family and circumstances to every idividual to your own needs.would recommend to anyone as i'm very happy with the whole package offered for my daughter.
Review made by: betul


Date of Review - 31 Thursday March 2011

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: very easy to do and set up not alot of paperwork to fill out
Bad Points: only 1 statement per year would preferre quarterley
General Comments:
very good interest , and guarenteed every year so you will never have less than you put in. they have goood customer service and help you do paperwork even though it was very easy to set up and do yourself, will so advise you to all the services which would be of interest to you before you make you decision of what to open up with them, it was easy to and got an appointment very quickly, easty access in to the building and entertaionment for the children in the waiting area and refreshments were ofered. great packages for all the family and circumstances to every idividual to your own needs.would recommend to anyone as i'm very happy with the whole package offered for my son.
Review made by: gemma hutchinson


Date of Review - 4 Friday March 2011

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  5/5 5/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: Very easy to open account. Plus free gift.
Bad Points: Hard to find branches. Free gift was for 8+!!!!
General Comments:
I would recommend the Child Trust Fund with Britannia. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I did have a job at first finding a Britannia Branch, but on telephoning the branch, they helped with nearby car parking facilities etc. The free gift was a paint your own piggy money box, which was lovely but was aimed at children aged 8+ - for a newborn baby Trust Fund! When I pointed this out they were extremely apologetic and hadn't realised. But I still think it's a nice gift to put away for my daughter. The whole process of opening the account was very easy from start to finish - more so with the helpfulness of the staff.
Review made by: Helen Crichton-Prince


Date of Review - 3 Thursday March 2011

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: easy to use, friendly staff, quick process
Bad Points:
General Comments:
It's good to know that I am investing in a bank that has a good reputation and will help to increase the amount of money invested in for my childs future. I also appreciate the security of the bank as the money cannot be touched by any body other than my child when they reach 18 years of age. It's also good to know that my childs money will not be at risk to stock loss when investing with the child trust fund option. Although interest rates could fall they can also rise which would make my childs account beneficary.
Review made by: jennifer duxbury


Date of Review - 7 Monday February 2011

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 4/5 4/5

Good Points: Easy to use, good branch staff and lots of branches
Bad Points: n/a
General Comments:
I opened a child trust fund with Britannia at my local branch, staff friendly enough. Product easy to use and all family/friends can pay into branch. The explantion was good and the account easy to operate. Communication following opening good. Happy to do business and would recommend company. Would use again for future investments. Branches up and down the country so others can pay into account further afield. Carefuld consideration was given to provider and these were a recommended company, happy to deal with. Happy with my choice of provider. If you are unsure then look around but I would recommend
Review made by: richard ellis


Date of Review - 6 Sunday February 2011

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: staff were very helpful and friendly
Bad Points:
General Comments:
the staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. we did not need to make an appointment, they fitted us in right away.They explained everything in detail making sure we understood what they were talking about, and making sure we was making the right decision they didn't try to persuade us in the least leaving us to make up our own minds on weather we wanted to go ahead or not. They went over all the services they offer, but wasn't the least bit pushy, or tried to sell us anything that we was'nt interested in .I would use them again without hesitation
Review made by: sharon mcevoy


Date of Review - 31 Monday January 2011

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  5/5 5/5
Staff Friendliness 3/5 3/5

Good Points: east account to use
Bad Points: staff to pushy about other investments when i only wanted to open a child trust fund
General Comments:
i found the staff very helpful with the opening of my childrens trust fund account, they were very informative covering all aspects of the account , however they were very pushy trying to get me to take out a mortage and insurance with them and would not take no for an answer and i eventually left with an appointment with their morgage adviser which i didnt want, apart from this i would recommend opening an account here you get regular statements and updates of anything new that is happening, my children also have saving accounts with the halifax building society
Review made by: sharon richardson


Date of Review - 24 Monday January 2011

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: easy to fill in forms and a staff member there to help
Bad Points: you have to make an appointment in branch
General Comments:
Called in to local branch to enquire, they told me i must make an appointment, which they managed to fit me in the same day, they took me into a nice quite office where i filled in the forms which were very straightforward. There was a member of staff to help with any questions and it took less than 30 mins from start to finish. I was given all the info i needed and even managed to get a free piggybank. Excellent company and will use again. I would recommend to anybody who has any account to open, we have now used them for other products and cannot fault them.
Review made by: mrs k hague


Date of Review - 3 Monday January 2011

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  3/5 3/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: Didn't have to wait long for staff to complete forms
Bad Points: took a long time for letter to come in the post about the account
General Comments:
We decided to use britania building society as it was close to home and found them to be located in several areas of Bristol incase we moved. When we went into the premise the staff were very friendly and helpful talking to our baby son and asking about him. They explained the main account they did was the savings account, which was what we were interested in. It didn't take long to fill out the various details however it did seem to take quite a few weeks/months for a piece of paper to come through from the headquaters saying they had recieved the trust fund voucher. thats all we have recieved so far. I thought we may have recieved an account book or something for my babies record that said he had the £250 so slightly disapointed, but it maybe like that everywhere .
Review made by: Sarah Hill


Date of Review - 31 Friday December 2010

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  5/5 5/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: We choose this provider for both our children as the accounts where easy to open, it was a name we trust and the interest rate was no too bad when we looked at others, The yearly statements are clear and precise and its everything we would expect
Bad Points: As with all child trust funds there is not much control with the exception of moving to a different provider but they all seem to be very similar so we are just leaving them to Britannia to look after, i suspect both our boys will be able to purchase a litre of fuel when they get to eighteen years old with this money
General Comments:
we have always been fans of the Britannia as we find them to be very black and white and opening the accounts was easy with no fuss and the statements are yearly with clear and precise information contained and the seem to be very uncompetitive. we have had the child trust funds since they started and are growing at a steady rate, we choice not to add to these accounts as we like to be in control of our children's savings and always on the look out for the highest interest rates available we give Britannia top marks for the child trust funds
Review made by: Jarrod Hutt


Date of Review - 5 Sunday December 2010

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  5/5 5/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: easy to open, simply emailed for a form and was sent quickly and returned by freepost - no fuss/ hassle
Bad Points: none
General Comments:
this cash child trust fund account was very easy to open - i simply emailed off for an application which was received quickly, it was easy to fill in and a freepost address was provided to return the form. my daughters account was set up and and we were notified quickly. we have not received any excess unwanted mail from britannia and have been very happy with the service provided thus far, have just opened one for our son too. overall hassle free easy set up and pleased with communication and service since then. would happily recommend this provider to other parents
Review made by: kate riley


Date of Review - 15 Friday October 2010

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: Approachable, knowledge and friendly staff who explained process. Paid some bags of coins in and the penny bag was onw short so cashier put one in out of his own pocket. Handilly placed and accessible branch office.
Bad Points: A little difficult to follow paperwork at first.
General Comments:
Generally very pleases with the trust fund and the process of setting up and running. As stated above the Brittania staff in Belper are approachable, knowledge and friendly staff who explained process. We paid some bags of coins in and the penny bag was one short so the cashier put one in out of his own pocket. Handilly placed and accessible branch office on the main street in Belper. The second payment by the government was unexpected and very welcome. It is a pity the present administration intend to withdraw the facility but waht do you expect from them! Thank you
Review made by: Chas Gilbert


Date of Review - 21 Tuesday September 2010

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  5/5 5/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: As it a very confusing time having a new baby finding the best place to invest for your childs future is a difficult decision. My partner has banked with briattania for years so seemed the obvious choice. The staff were freindly and very informative and ensuring that our son had the best rate. full marks.
Bad Points: none
General Comments:
An amazing bank that has offered us the best rate and service, Very clear welcome pack and clear explanation of the rate that the child trust voucher will be invested. They ensured that the trust fund was properley secured and that our son will have full access when he comes of age, it was also nice to know that we can add to the account at any time increasing our sons money so thatin time he will have money to spend on the important things things that we may not be able to afford. I would completley reccomend Brittania as a good place to save your childs money.
Review made by: kelly bradford


Date of Review - 16 Thursday September 2010

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: Friendly and helpful staff
Bad Points:
General Comments:
I found this to be the best option to place my childs trust fund voucher in. It was the best for gaining interest for her to ensure a good nest egg for her in the future. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful in explaining the pros and cons of this account. They regularly keep you up to date with any changes that are of interest to my daughters account and regular statements to see how the account is growing for her. I would receommend anyone who is looking to open account for their new born child should consider opening an account with Britannia.
Review made by: Debbie Simmons


Date of Review - 15 Wednesday September 2010

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  3/5 3/5
Staff Friendliness 4/5 4/5

Good Points: This was so easy to set up that I can't even remember how I did it.
Bad Points: None so far.
General Comments:
I set up a child trust for for my 7 year old when she was born due to the government trust fund scheme, and I also set up my own savings account for her, both with Britannia, as I did a bit of research and these seemed to be by far the best for childrens savings accounts. I have had absolutely no problems with these as yet, everything is always straight forward, and I recieve regular communications by post keeping me updated on whats going on, not just with the account, but with the bank and it's shareholders as well. I have yet to withdraw any money, as this will obviously not happen until my daughter is much older, but I cannot see any problems arising, as Britannia seem like an excellent choice for childrens savings accounts in my opinion.
Review made by: Kerry Okuns


Date of Review - 15 Wednesday September 2010

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points:
Bad Points:
General Comments:
I am 13 years old. I had a children’s account with Britannia Building Society since I was about one however I changed to Bath Building Society and got a Future Builder as the interest suddenly was so low in Britannia. They didn’t even make it clear. We worked it out as my dad’s an accountant. When I tried to change they were very rude and tried to stop me. The interest at Britannia was the same as the adults account which I think is quite bad. The staffs at BBS were very kind and helpful. It was really quick and easy to change.
Review made by: madeleine


Date of Review - 15 Wednesday September 2010

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points:
Bad Points:
General Comments:
I am 13 years old. I had a children’s account with Britannia Building Society since I was about one however I changed to Bath Building Society and got a Future Builder as the interest suddenly was so low in Britannia. They didn’t even make it clear. We worked it out as my dad’s an accountant. When I tried to change they were very rude and tried to stop me. The interest at Britannia was the same as the adults account which I think is quite bad. The staffs at BBS were very kind and helpful. It was really quick and easy to change.
Review made by: maddy


Date of Review - 23 Friday July 2010

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: easy to do, fast efficient service.. what more do you want!?!?
Bad Points: i cant think of any!
General Comments:
Was so easy to set up, all i had to do was ask for a form, fill it in and they did the rest! The form was really easy and i didnt need a load of information it was just my details, my childs details and their reference number. the staff where i live were really helpful and friendly (Eastbourne) and i then went through the process again a year later with my daughter. Both times i just handed the form over the counter and within a few days i had all the details posted to me and i could start saving!
Review made by: Sabrina Pengilly


Date of Review - 29 Tuesday June 2010

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: Easy to set up, my son is just over 2 years old now and this account offered the best rate at the time, my brother's little girl also had this account. Nice quiet branch with friendly staff.
Bad Points: Bit disappointed the rate has dropped so much and as a result have not been topping it up as I had planned to as can simply get better rate in other accounts. Having said that no CTF (cash) seems to be paying much and now the Gov are closing their contribution, can't see them getting any better.
General Comments:
It was a good but expensive idea which unfortunately couldn't be afforded in the current economic climate. I would have liked to see the banking industry give a better rate on these products to encourage parents to save for their childrens' future especially considering the cost of education is going to get higher among other things. Hopefully rates will improve as the children are the future and need as much help as possible. By and large Britannia have a good product, the statements are produced well and they give easy to read information in their leaflets. this is 101 words
Review made by: Jenni


Date of Review - 23 Tuesday March 2010

Ease of Use 3/5 3/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: Very helpful staff
Bad Points: Unsure if there's internet access to check account balance or set up direct debit
General Comments:
i sometimes have difficulty in setting anything up for my daughter as we dont have the same surname - not this time! staff made me aware of other products without sounding pushy and also informed me about the financial reward i could receive by moving MY savings across as well. I found that this was the best savings account (with the highest interest) at the time in which i was to invest the money by going onto moneysavingexpert.com (Martin Lewis) a friend also recommend my local branch (northwich) as the staff very more than happy to help with my queries.
Review made by: Jenn Burgess


Date of Review - 22 Monday March 2010

Ease of Use 5/5 5/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: Very friendly helpful staff documents sent quickly annual statement sent to me so i can see how much interest the account has earned would recomend
Bad Points: none
General Comments:
i found Britannia Building Society helpful and friendly i was told how the account works and the general rate of interest it will earn i received the documents promtly and they were clear and easy to understand i had no problems with it. i get annual statements which show how much interest the account has earned i couldnt ask for anything more, i would recomend Britannia Building Society to family and friends without hesitation as they are always friendly whenever i go into my local branches answer any questions or queries with a friendly smile cant fault them at all .
Review made by: Emma Barker


Date of Review - 22 Monday March 2010

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: i can use the account very easily
Bad Points: there is none
General Comments:
i like brittania as it is local to me and the staff are always there to help if you have a problem and are very willing to help in any way they can they have also helped me with explaining things to my children and also to me they are always on hand if i have a question and are eager to answer it if they cant then they will give me names and numbers of others that will help me the interest is also good and the statements are also clear and easy to understand and if there is a problem they are there to help
Review made by: samantha channon


Date of Review - 27 Saturday February 2010

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: Interest Rates, Easy to set up
Bad Points: None
General Comments:
When we received the voucher for our daughter, we looked around for ages trying to figure out where was the best place to put it. We decided on Brittania because of the high interest rate and the good things we had heard. I have to admit, it was very easy to sort out and any questions were answered immediatly. I sometimes think there could be more correspondance from Brittania after setting up the account but then I suppose there wouldn't really be anything to inform us of on a weekly basis. We have just had another baby and we're not going to hesitate using Britannia again this time. Over all we are very happy with the service, interest rates and how helful we have found Britannia.
Review made by: Samantha Clarke


Date of Review - 7 Monday December 2009

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 5/5 5/5

Good Points: Free money for your little ones future.
Bad Points: Not enough people accept the voucher.
General Comments:
I opened the Trust Fund account for my daughter born in 2005 with the Brittania Building Society. I think this was a really excellent idea by those in the know! Your child can not draw on this until they're 18 which is great - otherwise they could be tempted earlier. You can add to it each month or just when you have some extra money. The child can save Birthday or Christmas money also. This would be an ideal nest egg for their future or for college or maybe their first car. I found it very easy to open the account with the britannia and the ladies in there are very helpful. Even if you can not afford to put much into the account it doesn't really matter as the interest will be added onto it each year anyway. The only problem I did find at the time was that not many banks or building societies accepted the voucher. However that was in 2005 so I expect things have changed a lot since.
Review made by: Mrs Lynda Dyer


Date of Review - 7 Monday December 2009

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 4/5 4/5

Good Points: Communication to start Information on the investment What the rates were and how it compared to other
Bad Points: Since we have set it up, we have not had much communication since in terms of how it is doing and what else we can do to make it better.
General Comments:
The trust we decided to take up was with the Britannia Building society. We decided on this one due to the interest rates that were being offered at the time. we have since had another child and have also done the same and invested with the Britannia Building society. It was very easy toset up the trust fund for the children and was done in the branch. The only issue has been the lack of follow up in terms of how the investment is performing and what else we can do to try and make the investment reach its's full potential. It is good to know that the children will have some money put aside for their future and how much it will be.
Review made by: Kelvin hefford


Date of Review - 7 Monday December 2009

Ease of Use 3/5 3/5
Quality of Information  3/5 3/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: The staff where very helpful
Bad Points:
General Comments:
I needed to set up a child trust fund account to deposit the £250 my child received from he government. I chose this account for the high interest rate that it offered. The staff at my local Britannia Building Society where very helpful and the information I received was extremely useful and easy to understand. I also receive monthly updates on the account as well as other offers and promotions. The account was quick and easy to set up. No complaints at all, my husband and I would recommend this account to anyone who asked. I am glad I opened an account for him so young as now when its his birthday is grandparents put a small amount away in this account for him when he’s older.
Review made by: Maria


Date of Review - 7 Monday December 2009

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: High interest rate.
Bad Points: None occurred
General Comments:
Once I had opened the account i received a letter informing me that when my child reaches the age of five i will receive a further Two Hundred and Fifty Pounds which i was not aware off. But I now believe most if not all Child Trust Fund Accounts do this. But I chose this accounts for the high interest rate which it offers which is 2.30%. The staff at my local Britannia Building Society where very helpful and the information I received was extremely useful and easy to understand. I also receive monthly updates on the account as well as other offers and promotions.
Review made by: Cheryl Thomas


Date of Review - 7 Monday December 2009

Ease of Use 1/5 1/5
Quality of Information  1/5 1/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: Really good communication!
Bad Points: Can't actually think of any...
General Comments:
We decided to open our Child Trust Fund with the Britannia Building Society & have not regretted it one bit. Our second child will have their account there too. The staff are super friendly and deal well with having kids in their office, our daughter was made centre of attention which made it easy for us to listen to the advisor, take in the information and to get the paperwork filled out and signed. We also get plenty of information through the post with what is happening with our daughter's money and what the rates currently are. And the branch is local which helps too of course. No complaints at all, my husband and I would recommend this account to anyone who asked!
Review made by: Lisa Hidderley


Date of Review - 7 Monday December 2009

Ease of Use 4/5 4/5
Quality of Information  4/5 4/5
Staff Friendliness 1/5 1/5

Good Points: High street location, friendly staff, they fill in all of the forms so there is nothing complicated.
Bad Points: You are not provided with a paying in book, so when you wish to pay in you have to find a letter with the details on etc. to take with you.
General Comments:
I choose a Britannia Building Society Trust Fund. I went to them primarily as I was looking for a savings version of the Trust Fund and I wanted someone I could visit personnally if I needed to. This was the only one on the huge list I was given by the Goverment which fulfiled both those needs. The staff are very helpful, but it is worth mentioning that you do need to book into your local branch to open the account in person. When there they explain everything in English and will fill in all of the forms for you, handy as I was feeding my little one at the time. The only thing I would say is you only get statements once a year and there is no paying in book. I always end up getting his account opening letter and taking it with, but that is a small inconvience for the level of service and type of account.
Review made by: Zaneta Jones


Bookmark

Bookmark this page
What is Social bookmarking? Social bookmarking allows users to save and categorise a personal collection of bookmarks and share them with others. This is different to using your own browser bookmarks which are available using the menus within your web browser. Click on the "Bookmark" link above to share this article on the social bookmarking site of your choice. Read more about social bookmarking at Wikipedia - Social Bookmarking.

If you would like to make your own review of this Financial Product please click here.